Has Your Entire Staff Been Trained on Sexual Harassment? July 9, 2019 General sexual harassment training, Thakur Law Firm APC 0 Provided by Thakur Law Firm Sexual harassment in the workplace is a risk that California employers simply cannot afford. Driven by high-profile sexual harassment and assault cases at work, California law makers have taken it upon themselves to ensure most employers, even those with just a few employees, minimize that risk by requiring training for all employees. Since 2005, employers with at least 50 employees have been required to train and educate all personnel in supervisory positions in California in the prevention of sexual harassment. Now, any employer with enough employees to field a basketball team must provide sexual harassment training. The new law, proposed as Senate Bill (SB) 1343, lowers the minimum number of employees from 50 to 5, and also includes non-supervisors in the mandatory training. SB 1343 also requires covered employers to provide at least two hours of sexual harassment prevention training and education to all supervisory employees and at least one hour of such training to all non-supervisory employees in California, by January 1, 2020. Training and education must be provided once every two years thereafter, as specified under the new law. The new law also creates requirements for California’s government agency charged with enforcement of civil rights, the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH). Summary of Requirements: By January 1, 2020, employers with at least five employees must provide: (1) at least two hours of sexual harassmentprevention training to all supervisory employees; and (2) at least one hour of sexual harassment prevention training toall non-supervisory employees in California within six months of their assumption of either a supervisory or non-supervisory position. The training must be provided once every two years. Training can be provided only by a qualified trainer including any of the following: attorneys licensed for 2 years with practice in employment law under the DFEH or Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act of 1964, human resources professionals or harassment prevention consultants with two years of practical experience in specific areas, or law school, college, or university instructors with training. The anti-sexual harassment training may be conducted with other employees, as a group, or individually, and broken up into shorter time segments, as long as the two-hour requirement for supervisory employees and one-hour requirement for non-supervisory employees is reached. Employers must provide sexual harassment prevention training in a classroom setting, through interactive E-learning, or through a live webinar. Employers are required to provide training in 2019 to comply with the January 1, 2020 deadline. SBCMS preferred business partner, Thakur Law Firm, APC, will be providing required sexual harassment training for non-supervisory employees and supervisors to effectively educate employers and employees on important workplace legal issues relating to sexual harassment prevention and to ensure employers maintain a legally compliant and productive workplace. Pricing: In-person training for non-supervisors up to 30 attendees for 1 hour - $750* In-person training for supervisors up to 30 attendees for 2 hours -$1,200* *Additional charge for travel outside of the greater San Bernardino County area. For more information, please contact Thakur Law Firm, APC at (714) 772-7400 or email@example.com. Comments are closed.