Keeping You Connected

The SBCMS keeps you up to date on the latest news,
policy developments, and events

SBCMS News/Media

NEWS RELEASE - Mark M. Bai, M.D. Installated 127th SBCMS President


Contact: Alison Elsner 909-273-6000 W, 760-413-5053 C,

- 2019-20 board officers and ‘Outstanding Award’ recipients honored

(Inland Empire, CA.) – The San Bernardino County Medical Society (SBCMS) welcomed its 127th President at its recent Officers’ Installation and Recognition Dinner. Mark M. Bai, M.D., Family Medicine physician with Southern California Permanente Medical Group San Bernardino Region (Kaiser Permanente), was sworn in as President for 2019-20, on Thursday, June 20 at Los Serranos Country Club in Chino Hills, California. Close to 200 guests gathered for a reception followed by sit-down dinner and program.

Lee Snook, M.D., California Medical Association (CMA) Speaker of the House of Delegates, provided introductory remarks. Officers were sworn in by CMA President-Elect, Peter Bretan, M.D., including:

  • Christopher Tsai, MD – President Elect, Urologist, San Antonio Urology Medical Group, Upland, CA
  • Kristy Roloff, DO – Vice President, Ob-Gyn, Arrowhead Regional Medical Center, Colton, CA
  • Javier M. Sánchez, MD – Secretary, Family Medicine, Southern California Permanente Medical Group, Redlands, CA
  • Tarek Moqattash, MD – Treasurer, Internal Medicine, Apple Valley, CA
  • Damodara Rajasekhar, MD – Immediate Past President, Pediatrician, Apple Valley, CA

A family medicine physician in primary and urgent care with the Southern California Permanente Medical Group-San Bernardino Area (Kaiser Permanente) since 2005, Dr. Bai presently serves as the Assistant Area Medical Director, supporting Primary Care Services in Kaiser Permanente across San Bernardino County since 2011. He was awarded the KP Fontana/Ontario Medical Centers’ Family Medicine Physician of the Year in 2011 and was elected as the KP Fontana/Ontario Hospitals’ Medical Staff President for 2013. (Full background included in PDF below). 

Dr. Bai said, “I am privileged to take the baton from Dr. Damodara Rajasekhar, who successfully led SBCMS as President for the past 12 months. SBCMS is truly an organization filled with physicians who care and people who care about physicians. My goal is to expand the exposure and communication of all the great things SBCMS and CMA are doing for our physicians and of all the great things our physicians are doing for the communities we serve on behalf of our patients.”

Eight individuals/organizations were recognized with the presentation of the Outstanding Physician and/or Citizen Awards:

  • Ricardo Peverini, M.D., Vice Dean, Loma Linda University School of Medicine – Presidential Award
  • Eric R. Hansen, D.O., FAAFP, Family Practice - Nicholas P. Krikes, M.D. Outstanding Contribution to the Medical Society
  • Patricia C. Trantham, M.D., Southern California Permanente Medical Center, Southern California Region - William L. Cover, M.D. Outstanding Contribution to Medicine
  • Edgar Ochoa, M.D., Southern California Permanente Medical Center, Southern California Region -   
  • Merlin A. Hendrickson, M.D. Outstanding Contribution to the Community
  • Maxwell Ohikhuare, M.D., Public Health Officer, San Bernardino County Department of Public Health - Merlin A. Hendrickson, M.D. Outstanding Contribution to the Community
  • Timothy Evans, CEO & Founder, The Unforgettables Foundation - Outstanding Citizen 
  • California Medical Association – Outstanding Leadership Award

The annual Ronald P. Bangasser, M.D. Medical Student Scholarship for $2,500 was also presented to medical student Neera Shah, Loma Linda University School of Medicine, Class of 2021. READ MORE HERE.

Comments are closed.